I Can’t Sleep, And This Blog Will Be Different From Now On….

  I’m no longer a waitress. I quit waitressing back at the beginning of August and started working as a customer service representative. Truth be told, I think I enjoyed waitressing more, but the CSR job pays much better. So now, I’ll bitch and rant about all the things that come with being a customer service rep.

  So, my first bitch with the new topic of the blog? My IDs for the systems at work went down Tuesday morning, and they sent me home. Wednesday, after calling to check if my IDs were working – they told me they were – and guess what? I got sent home, because they weren’t working after all, I called Thursday morning and they said they still weren’t working, so no work. Most people would be happy with no work – hell, I was kinda psyched that first day – but then I realized that my paycheck for this period of time will be a very shitty one. At least I got a little relaxation in. They called later Thursday and said the IDs were working again, but I had no ride (the people I usually ride with were already at work by that time), so I couldn’t go in again today.

  I noticed one thing since starting this CSR job – although my personal life is at an all-time high (thriving on my own, I have a boyfriend now whom I love very much, etc.), outside of that, my stress levels are also at an all-time high. So now what am I going to do? Well, I thought about finding another job. I’d hate to switch jobs again, but it would be nice to have a job closer to home that I can walk to until I can get a car. But hell, part of the reason I wanted this job was so I’d be able to afford a car. Don’t get me wrong, I’m actually not bad at the job. I get good crift* scores and my sales are decent. (We have to offer products after we resolve the issue.) It is a very stressful environment though. In writing it doesn’t sound so bad until you actually get on the phones, then you realize just how stressful it is. I think the thought of going back to work tomorrow after two and a half days off is part of the reason I can’t sleep tonight. Oh, and the fact that my ride might be calling off tomorrow, leaving me scrambling to try and find another ride in the morning, as it’s way too late to try and get ahold of anyone else tonight.

  Maybe it was stupid of me to get a job twenty miles from home when I don’t even have a car. Maybe it was stupid of me to get a job where there would be such high stress levels when I don’t deal with stress very well at all. Maybe it was stupid of me to get a job where I’d have absolutely no free time. To top it all off, here I sit, at midnight, needing to be awake again in the morning at 6:00, my boyfriend sound asleep in my bed. He works at the same place and we both hate it. I want to try and stick it out as long as I possibly can because the money is great for my area, but I don’t know how much longer I can take working in such a stressful environment where you’re nothing but a little robot.

  Of course, I’ll never say what company I take calls for. All I’ll say is that it’s a fucking huge, global company that doesn’t give two shits about its customers, much less employees. I thought maybe the days off would give me a recharge, but I’m dreading going back in tomorrow, even though it’s Friday (and payday) and I’ll have two more days off immediately thereafter, plus Thanksgiving, Black Friday, and the weekend immediately following those days off.

  I don’t even think the stress comes all from the job though. A lot of the stress comes from having to get rides from other people, and on nights like tonight, having to worry if I’ll be able to make it to work the next day because my ride might call off.

  OK, that was my rant. Hopefully from now on I’ll be more regular in posting here. Maybe me getting a job like this really is my karma burning.

 

*Crift – You know the survey you sometimes get after you call a customer service line that asks if you were happy with the service that the representative provided you? That’s what crift is, and our crift scores are based on how the customers rate us when they call.

Leave a Reply

